The Wild Dog Packs of Romania

Years before I ever travelled to Romania I had heard tales of dangerous wild packs of dogs roaming the streets of  the capital Bucharest and other towns and cities around the country. In 2010 I finally went to Romania myself. I mostly travelled in Transylvania and then down to Bucharest.

Bran (Dracula) Castle Romania
Bran (Dracula) Castle in Transylvania

During my time in the country I never encountered any packs of dogs. All I saw was beautiful scenery, old cities and historical places.

The calm streets of Brasov Romania
The calm streets of Brasov

Somewhat disappointing I know, until…

dogs sleeping brasov romania
The wild dogs of Romania!

I took that photo on the back streets of Brasov in Transylvania. This was the only time I ever saw any large group of dogs together in Romania. The scene amused me then and still does today!

I did encounter a far more dangerous creature in Brasov though. A European Brown Bear foraging through a dumpster for food. A number of people die each year from such encounters! Once again I lived to tell the tale. I survived the “wild dogs” and a bear!

European Brown Bear foraging in Brasov, Romania
European Brown Bear foraging in Brasov
Leave a Reply

